Never the Right Balance

They told me to stop being so timid, to stop speaking so softly, and that sometimes the way to success isn’t quiet responses made up of nods and smiles. They told me I was too modest.

So I started speaking.

Then they told me to stop being so vocal, to stop sounding like I was aware of what I could accomplish, that sometimes one needs to be silent to be noticed, and that sometimes success arrives quietly. They told me I was too conceited.

So I stopped listening to them.

Leave a Reply

