The Calm Before the Storm

Winter storm Juno. Blizzard warnings. What a perfect Monday!

Not really.

This is not exactly how I wanted to spend my Monday, two days away from the first day of the spring semester. I had plans to go out for coffee with a friend I haven’t seen in over a month, but those were cancelled due to the oncoming storm. We thought it would be safer to stay home than to venture out into the city seeing how we live at least an hour and a half apart, and who knows what Juno will bring? I can’t complain too much though. Although my day wasn’t productive, I did get to catch up on some TV shows, and I cooked beans for the first time, so that’s something.

Snow AccumulationOn the left is a photo of my backyard taken from the kitchen, around 1:30 pm; still not a lot of snow, but the path on the sidewalk my brother and I cleared in front of the house was snowed over again soon after.

I don’t mind the snow, I really don’t. I quite enjoy it, actually, but not when there is a blizzard warning two days before classes begin, and knowing my school? Yup, classes will be open. Maybe I wouldn’t be bothered by it too much if my commute to school didn’t take almost an hour and a half sometimes, or if the only way to get to campus from any direction didn’t require going uphill, or maybe those are just excuses. I’m not sure. I keep telling myself I’m excited about classes to start again but, at the same time, I’m really nervous.

Oh well, even if by some miracle my school decides to shut its gates on Wednesday, the inevitable first day of the semester will come. Maybe it will be better not to postpone it and get it over with? Well, it’s not up to me anyway, so bring it on Juno.

Leave a Reply

